Visits from Abroad

August 30, 2002

I don't have too much time to write, but it's been a very good week. The third term of school ended last Friday, and my wonderful girlfriend flew in from the States on Saturday. It's good to see her — six months of separation wasn't particularly good for my sanity, and it's been a whole lot of fun showing her around Christchurch. In the process I've discovered some nice restaurants I think I'll be frequenting from now on. Anyhow, we've been having a great time, and we're quite excited about The Big Move, when she comes down to join me for the entire year.It's been a long time since I've taken any pictures. Part of it is laziness on my part, and part of it is the distinct lack of my studio equipment. Fortunately, the equipment part of the equation arrived today. Well, half of it, at least. Light stands, soft boxes, and umbrellas are great … but pretty worthless without the flash heads. Hopefully those will be arriving tomorrow.

I've been thinking about turning the server I run into a real business, although I'm slightly hesitant to take on the responsibility of clients who aren't close friends of mine. Still, it's not a bad idea. I can administer the machines from anywhere in the world, and I certainly could use another source of income … anyhow, if you're interested in helping set up a non-profit hosting service, drop me a line.

Leave a Reply

