Office Decoration

May 20, 2007

So, we moved into a new house, and a significantly awesome part of the move is that I finally have my own office/study/hideaway. This isn’t just a room we call an “office” because it’s where we keep a cat box and a couple of filing cabinets. This is mine, mine, mine. And right now, it’s empty. So, I’m trying to fix that.

My first thoughts went straight to a villain’s lair. But, it’s too small for an intimidatingly large mahogany desk and moody lighting. Indeed, there’s nothing remotely intimidating about the space, nor do I have an empire to lord over, so there’s no practical use in pursuing a proper villain’s lair. Besides, I typically opt for good over evil, and a villain’s lair would be terribly expensive to build (volcanos and missile silos don’t come cheap, and the maintenance … phew).

Then I immediately flashed back to my childhood — I still like Star Wars, cartoons, and construction equipment, but I’d rather not come off as vaguely creepy when I explain to guests that we don’t have children. Plus, the real kids in the family might want to play with my toys. I don’t want to share, and kids fight dirty anyway. Especially girls. What’s up with the hair pulling?

Then there’s the “traditional guy” approach. I actually have a lot of old baseball cards and caps I could put up, but I’m not so good with the follow through discussions (“uhh, yeah, so how about that local sports team … ?”). I’m more “nerd” than “traditional guy” and I wouldn’t want to give people the wrong impression. Then again, I don’t like it when people ask me to fix their computers.

I do have a lot of cool old cameras and photos to put up. My collection of old paper money is kinda neat. I sense potential there.

Anyhow, I’m terrible at this interior decoration thing, but I’m determined to do it myself.

Anyone else have an office/study/hideaway they’re proud of? I’m lookin’ for inspiration, so it would be cool to see what other people have done.

Update: James pointed me towards Blik.  Neat big wall decals for grown up people.  Thanks.

One Response to “Office Decoration”


Leave a Reply

