iPhone Developer Kit Coming?

May 31, 2007

I crapped a brick the first time I saw the iPhone, and another when I heard that it wasn’t going to be open to third party developers or applications.  I understand their reluctance to let other people’s software near their proprietary media platform, but come on — for the iPhone to be a “revolution,” they need the support of the businesses and individuals who are chomping at the bit to write widgets that solve problems Apple hasn’t even dreamed of.

Anyhow, I guess the clamor over the last few months has been loud enough to be heard at Apple:

For Jobs, the question of third-party software was now a question of “when” rather than “if:” the main issues now were to protect the phone against crashes and security holes, which he said have frequently ruined the experience for smartphones in the past. Pressure on the firm to change its current, closed-off approach was evident in Jobs’ reactionary tone.

“We would like to solve this problem,” he said. “And if you could just be a little more patient with us, we’ll do it.”

(via AppleInsider.com)

Yay!

One Response to “iPhone Developer Kit Coming?”

  1. rus Says:

    I heard it was unofficially leaked somewhere. I haven’t found it so I don’t know if it’s true or not.

    I have long hated Apple’s closed development approach. It’s the primary reason I’ve avoided Mac development most of my career…I kept having my hopes squashed by them over, and over again. It’s like, if Palm and Microsoft are practically giving me professional development environments, full sdks, and in some cases, OS source code for free…direct support from the actual OS engineers…it goes on and on. Basically, they take care of a lot of the major hassles and get them out of the way for you, so you just have to download and install some stuff, then you’re ready to go. Apple needs to be more like that to remain competitive. Sure, there’s a lot of folks who will buy something because the case and interface is pretty, but the competition have already realized that and started trying to horn in on that advantage as well.


Leave a Reply

