House Out, Camera In

June 21, 2007

Nikon D80We sold our first house yesterday, and as a gift to myself I went out and bought my first digital SLR — a Nikon D80.   I’ve been itching to get a digital SLR for about five years, and I think the quality and price have finally reached the point where I won’t feel guilty about plonking down the dough.

I’m still a little grumpy about digital photography, for two reasons.  First, I sit in front of the computer all day, so I’m not exactly thrilled with the prospect of spending more time sitting on my ass and clicking on the mouse.  Second, and I guess it’s kind of related, but I love the “old fashioned” process of printing black and white photographs in a darkroom with chemicals and enlargers and all that.

Never the less, I love taking pictures, and I’m thrilled with how easy it is to share photos and find inspiration on the web.  The D80 is a great camera to build on, and I’m looking forward to spending the next several years with it.

So, expect more photos.  In a couple of days I’m headed up to Alaska on a trip with the extended family, and I’m excited to see what comes of it.

Leave a Reply

